Government and international relations

The Republic of Cyprus is an independent sovereign state since 1960 with a presidential system of government. Since 1 May 2004, the Republic of Cyprus is a full member of the European Union.

In 1974 Turkey invaded Cyprus and since then 36% of territory of the Republic of Cyprus is being illegally occupied. Turkey displaced the Greek Cypriot population from the occupied area and established there a Turkish political entity – only recognised by Turkey.

Greek and Turkish are the official languages of the Republic but English is widely spoken and understood and is regularly used in bussiness and government.

The Republic of Cyprus is a member of many international organisations including the United Nations and its specialised agencies, the Council of Europe, the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, the World Trade Organization, the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund and the British Commonwealth. Further the Republic of Cyprus maintains world-wide diplomatic relations with missions in all major countries.